您能够在不同的色彩空间中获得一致的结果吗?

作者:Michael Brill

 

答案当然是“不能”。 但事情并不是那么简单。

 

色彩管理行业可使用许多不同的系统以数学方式描述色彩,但并没有一个公认的标准。 也没有办法将一种色彩系统转换为另一种色彩系统。 这意味着无法准确地将一个系统测量出的色差程度与另一个系统测量出的色差程度进行比较。

 

这些年来,为了满足特定的用途,我们已经确定了一些具体系统。 制造商通常专注于一种类型的系统,具体取决于仪器的主要用途以及使用这些仪器的行业需求。 在商业生产中,只有采用相同色彩空间的测量才能获得一致的结果。

 

本文将提供有关色彩系统的高级概述,以帮助您确定它们之间的差异。 如果您想更深入地了解色彩基础知识,建议您下载电子书《色彩管理原理》系列。 您会在第四本书中了解有关色彩空间、系统和计算公式的详细信息。

 

[有问题要咨询我们的色彩专家吗? 请在此处联系我们]

 

什么是色彩空间(和简史)?

 

色彩空间是一个三维模型,它描述了一组在数学上彼此相关的色彩。 色彩将沿着表示不同色彩属性(例如色调或饱和度)的轴进行映射。 所映射的属性会因色彩空间的类型而异。

 

CIE RGB、XYZ

 

色彩管理软件通常使用 1931 年国际照明委员会 (CIE) 确定的 XYZ 色彩空间变体。 XYZ 空间基于配色实验,人员观察者可以借此在任何光谱中找到三种选定基色光的混合配色,基色光通常是波长标记为红色 (R)、绿色 (G) 和蓝色 (B) 的单色光。  R、G 和 B 就像一个光线调色板,混合配色中的坐标被称为三刺激值。  对于任何 RGB 调色板,有些光线在三刺激配色方案中的数量为负值。
 

因此,CIE 派生出一个 XYZ 空间,其中的基色光不代表实际光线,但是允许匹配实际光线的任何配色方案包含非负三刺激值(称为 X、Y、Z)。
 

什么是 CIELAB 空间?

 

CIELAB 空间(含有坐标 L*、a*、b*)是 XYZ 配色空间的坐标重映射。 于 1976 年确定的 CIELAB 旨在从感知上保持统一,也就是映射色彩间的距离与其视觉差异相对应。

 

在矩形坐标中,CIELAB 根据以下三个值表示色彩:
 

  • L*: 亮度:从黑色 (0) 到白色 (100)
  • a*: 绿色 (-) 到红色 (+) 的量
  • b*: 蓝色 (-) 到黄色 (+) 的量

在这些坐标中,两种色彩之间的 CIELAB 差异(也称为 CIELAB DE)只是坐标差异的欧氏统计平方公差法。
 

按圆柱形坐标中的亮度 (L*)、色相 (h*) 和色度 (C*) 表示时,色度关系相对容易看到。因此,与矩形坐标相比,大家通常更喜欢圆柱形坐标,尽管这些坐标的色差方程看起来稍微复杂一些。
 

什么是 CIEDE2000?

 

CIEDE2000 是色差方程,不是色彩空间。 它是一种使用 CIELAB 坐标的计算方法,但色差更接近于人眼的实际感知力。

 

下面的类比会有助于您的理解: 假设您需要开车去商店。 CIELAB DE 可以显示出商店距离三英里。 但是您真正想知道的是行程时间,而不是距离。 在这种情况下,CIEDE2000 类似于对行程时间进行评估,不仅知道商店的位置,还知道由于正值交通高峰时段,耗用的时间可能比预期长。

 

[有问题要咨询我们的色彩专家吗? 请在此处联系我们]

 

为什么 CIELAB DE 和 CIE2000 DE 数值不兼容

 

在生产作业中,可接受的色差量取决于各种业务因素。 为了量化偏差,必须测量样品并为其分配数值。 使用 CIELAB 时的色差/距离度量为 ΔE (Delta E)。 尽管 CIEDE2000 使用的是 CIELAB 坐标,但它表示两种色彩之间的距离所使用的数学公式与 CIELAB 使用的简单平方和欧氏公式不同。  因此,CIELAB DE 和 CIE2000 DE 数值无法比较。 通常,CIE2000 DE 数值小于 CIELAB 数值。

 

购买分光光度仪时的注意事项

 

由于 CIELAB DE 和 CIE2000 的色差数值无法比较,不应直接比较使用这两种不同系统的仪器产品规格。 可能很难做出区分,因为两者都可以称为 DE。 为了便于客户比较不同的产品,大多数仪器规格使用 CIELAB。 但是,部分公司使用的是 CIE2000 DE 数值。 如果将它们在对比表中同时列出,那么使用 CIE2000 DE 的仪器就会表现出不切实的优势,或者错误地显示等同性。
 

此外,除了色差数学模型,DE 还受所选标准观察者(影响 XYZ 函数)和光源(使用标准光谱对仪器测量进行加权)的影响。 如果比较 DE 值,应该确保两个 DE 值的光源(通常为 D65 标准)和观察者(通常为 1964 观察者)是相同的。 本声明同时适用于 CIELAB DE 和 CIE 2000 DE。
 

以下是 Datacolor 仪器规格,其中包括可重复性数值和仪器间一致性数值(均使用 CIELAB DE,D65 标准光源和 1964 标准观察者):
 

 

[有问题要咨询我们的色彩专家吗? 请在此处联系我们]

 

为了找到最符合您需求的分光光度仪,请确保所要比较的任何规格都使用同一色差公式。 如果将使用 DE 值对比产品视为度量标准,请注意并确保 DE 值使用同一标准。 否则,您投资的仪器可能无法在现场达到预期的效果。

 

我们的 Datacolor 团队可以帮助您更好地了解不同的色彩空间。 我们向您展示的解决方案能够符合您所需的可重复性和仪器间一致性级别。 请在此处联系我们

 

(本博客仅供说明之用,还有更多情况需要考虑。 对于想要深入了解本主题的人员,请阅读我最近撰写的《着色技术》一文。)

Can You Have Consistent Results Across Different Color Spaces?

By Michael Brill

 

The short answer is “no”. But it’s not that simple.

 

The color management industry uses a number of different systems to mathematically describe colors, but there isn’t one single accepted standard. There’s also no way to convert one color system to another. That means the degree of color variation measured with one system can’t be accurately compared with measurements from another.

 

Specific systems have been defined over the years to meet particular purposes. Manufacturers often focus on one type of system, depending upon the primary purpose of their instruments and the needs of the industries that use them. In commercial production, only measurements using the same color space can generate consistent results.

 

In this article, we’ll provide a high-level overview of color systems to help you navigate their differences.

 

(Editor’s note: If you’re looking for a more in-depth explanation of color fundamentals, we recommend downloading our ebook series, Principles of Color Management. You’ll find detailed information on color spaces, systems and formulas in book four.)

 

[Have a Question for our Color Experts? Connect with us Here]

 

What is a color space (and a brief history)?

 

A color space is a three-dimensional model that describes a set of colors mathematically in relationship to each other. Colors are mapped along axes that represent different aspects of color such as hue, or saturation. The mapped aspects vary depending upon the type of color space.

 

CIE RGB, XYZ

 

Color management software typically uses variants of the color space XYZ defined in 1931 by the Commission International de ľéclairage (CIE). The XYZ space is based on color-matching experiments, whereby human observers find, for any spectrum of light, a matching mixture of three chosen primary lights, which are typically monochromatic at wavelengths labeled red (R), green (G), and blue (B).  R, G, and B are like a palette of lights, and the recipe of the mixture has coordinates called tristimulus values.  For any RGB palette, some lights have negative quantities in their tristimulus recipes.

 

Therefore, the CIE derived a space XYZ whose primaries are not representations of real lights, but allow any recipe of a real-light match to comprise non-negative tristimulus values (called X, Y, Z).

 

What is the CIELAB Space?

 

The CIELAB space (with coordinates L*,a*,b*) is a coordinate remapping of the matching space XYZ. CIELAB, defined in 1976, is intended to be perceptually uniform, meaning that the distance between mapped colors corresponds to their visual differences.

 

In rectangular coordinates, CIELAB expresses colors according to three values:

 

  • L*: Lightness, from black (0) to white (100)
  • a*: Amount of green (-) to red (+)
  • b*: Amount of blue (-) to yellow (+)

The CIELAB difference between two colors in these coordinates, called CIELAB DE, is just the Euclidean square-root-of-sum-of squares of the coordinate differences.

 

When represented in cylindrical coordinates of lightness (L*), hue (h*) and chroma (C*), the chromatic relationships are relatively easy to see, so people often prefer these coordinates to the rectangular ones—even though the color difference equation looks just a bit more complicated.

 

What is CIEDE2000?

 

CIEDE2000 is a color-difference equation, not a color space. It’s a calculation that uses CIELAB coordinates, but brings color differences closer to what the human eye actually perceives.

 

A helpful analogy: Let’s say you need to drive to the store. A CIELAB DE might reveal that the store is three miles away. But you’re really interested in travel time, not distance. In that context, CIEDE2000 is similar to evaluating the travel time knowing not only where the store is, but that it’s rush hour and might take you longer than anticipated.

 

[Have a Question for our Color Experts? Connect with us Here]

 

Why CIELAB DE and CIE2000 DE Figures Aren’t Compatible

 

The amount of color variation considered acceptable in production work depends upon business factors. To quantify that variation, samples must be measured and assigned numeric values. The difference/distance metric between colors when using CIELAB is ΔE (Delta E). Although CIEDE2000 uses CIELAB coordinates, it expresses a distance between two colors using a different mathematical formula than the simple sum-of-squares Euclidean formula used by CIELAB.  Therefore, CIELAB DE and CIE2000 DE figures aren’t comparable. In general, CIE2000 DE numbers are smaller than those for CIELAB.

 

What to Watch Out for When Purchasing a Spectrophotometer

 

Since the color difference numbers for CIELAB DE and CIEDE2000 aren’t compatible, product specifications for instruments using the two different systems shouldn’t be directly compared. Making the distinction can be tricky, since both can be called just DE. Most instrument specs use CIELAB in order for customers to easily compare different products. Some companies, however, use CIE2000 DE figures. If listed together in comparison charts, the instruments using CIE2000 DE will be inaccurately favored or appear falsely equivalent.

 

By the way, besides being dependent on the mathematics of the color-difference model, DE also depends on the choice of Standard Observer (which affects the XYZ functions) and on the choice of illuminant (which weights the instrument measurements with a standard spectrum). If you compare DE values, you should assure that the illuminant (usually D65) and observer (usually 1964) of the two DE values are the same. This statement applies to both CIELAB DE and CIE 2000 DE.

 

Following are the specifications for Datacolor instruments, including figures for repeatability and inter-instrument agreement – all using CIELAB DE with Illuminant D65 and 1964 Standard Observer:

 

 

[Have a Question for our Color Experts? Connect with us Here]

 

To find the best spectrophotometer for your needs, be sure any specs you’re comparing use the same color difference formula. If you see a product comparison with DE values as the metric, beware and make sure the DE values are on the same scale. Otherwise, you may invest in instruments that don’t perform as expected in the field.

 

Our Datacolor team can help you better understand different color spaces. And we can show you a solution with the repeatability and inter-instrument agreement levels you’re looking for. Connect with us here.

 

(While this blog serves as an introduction, there is much more to consider. For those looking to go more in-depth on the topic, I invite you to read a recent article I wrote for Coloration Technology.)